If you have been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Greenville, you should contact an experienced DUI defense attorney as soon as possible. Even if you have not yet been charged, you should still contact a lawyer immediately to discuss your case and your options.
At Thomas J. Adducci Law Firm, our Greenville DUI lawyer has handled hundreds of DUI cases and has a proven track record of success. We will work with you to develop a personalized strategy for your case and fight for the best possible outcome for your situation.
What Is DUI In South Carolina?
Driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious offense in South Carolina. As a criminal offense, conviction will result in jail time, fines, and license suspension. Conviction also makes it likely you’ll face heavier consequences in the future if you’re charged again.
But even a first-time DUI arrest can be devastating for your life and your future. You may lose your job or be unable to get a job in the future. You may also lose your ability to obtain a loan or mortgage. You may also be unable to obtain government grants or loans. You will also be required to carry the stigma of a DUI conviction for decades—perhaps forever.
In South Carolina, you can be convicted of DUI if the prosecutor proves you:
- Were under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of both,
- Were impaired by the alcohol, drugs, or combination of both, or
- Had a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more
…while operating a vehicle on a highway, road, or public vehicular area.
Penalties For DUI In South Carolina
If you are convicted of a first-offense DUI, you will be required to complete a 30-day alcohol education program. You will also be required to pay a fine between $400 and $1,000. Your license will also be suspended for six months.
If you are convicted of a second-offense DUI, penalties comes with up to three years in jail. You will be required to complete an alcohol education program and/or a substance abuse program and pay a fine between $2,100 and $5,100. You will also be required to have an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for two years, among other penalties.
A third DUI in 10 years will be charged as a felony, which means heightened penalties. If you are convicted of a third-offense DUI, penalties will include up to $10,000 in fines, 5 years in prison, completion of a substance abuse program, and more.
Defending Against DUI Charges in Greenville County, SC
There are several defenses available to fight a DUI charge. For example, you can argue that the officer did not follow proper procedure in administering a chemical test. You may also be able to argue that the officer did not have probable cause to stop your vehicle and arrest you.
Challenging your arrest or the state’s evidence (e.g. field sobriety tests or blood/breath tests) is one of the strongest ways our firm can get your charges reduced or dismissed. It’s also one of the ways our firm seeks to innovate criminal defense law—creating new ways to challenge forensic ‘evidence’ so our clients can get the best possible result.
"practically saved my life"
He not only made me feel more at ease with the overall situation, but with his uniquely intelligent and talented approach to my case, he practically saved my life.- Former Client